Vegetables I’ve Never Tried

29 Mar

As I read more cookbooks, blogs, recipes, etc, I’ve come to realize that there are a bunch of vegetables I’ve never tried.  It’s not that I don’t want to try these veggies it’s just that I have no idea how to make, prepare or combine them with the foods I make.  Here is a list of some of the veggies I steer clear from at the supermarket;

  1. Leek
  2. Parsnip
  3. Figs
  4. Mint
  5. Celery Root
  6. Zucchini Flowers
  7. Fennel
  8. Turnip

And it wasn’t up to a year ago that I finally ventured out and prepared some food with dill and thyme for the first time. Yeah sure I have tasted these two before but in restaurants.

What veggie haven’t your tried yet or recently tried?

5 Responses to “Vegetables I’ve Never Tried”

  1. Bren April 2, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    I cook for a living and there is tons of stuff I’ve never tried, either, so don’t feel bad. Turnips are just not my things. MINT?! are you serious?!?!Y? oh no, I love me some mint! Figs, too. Fresh ones are the best.

    • babyblizz April 2, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

      Thanks for the visit. As for the mint, no I’ve never bought the actual herb but I’ve had it in it’s dry form in tea. I don’t know if that counts.

  2. Foodsage April 4, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    Yummy2 – sounds like there may be an aversion to root / bulb veggies in your past?

    Here are ideas for each of these to seek out soon:

    Vichyssoise – creamy leek soup, served chilled

    Parsnips – peel and add to a stew, or peel, thinly slice and bake into chips in oven. They are a sweet treat!

    Fresh figs are nice but in short availability so try dried mission figs (the dark ones) stuffed with goat cheese, wrapped in prosciutto and grilled lightly – delicious spring cocktail fare.

    Mint – oh my – chop and add to garnish/flavor Vietnamese flavored salads and stir fries at the end of cooking. Or better yet crush with sugar, add lime and rum and enjoy a mojito!

    Celery Root – peel, cut in chunks, mash and add warm cream, butter and s/p. Comfort food refined.

    Zucchini flowers – not for the meek – stuff with fresh mozzarella, batter, bread and fry.

    Fennel – best sauteed or roasted in thin slices. Delicious with roast pork seasoned with fresh garlic and fennel seeds.

    Turnip – best sauteed and in a small dice and added to soups – particularly beef barley.

    Enjoy!

    • babyblizz April 21, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

      thanks for the great info!

  3. archintrain April 5, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    I like to put turnips and parsnips in with my carrots and potatoes and onions when I make a roast. As for veggie I have never had?? Broccoli Rabe… lol, I have never tried that..

Leave a Reply

